Fukuoka · General Life

Pulpo

Friday night went out with coworkers to celebrate a couple of office birthdays. That day’s birthday girl really likes the PulpoSpanish restaurant down the street from the office (and thus also my apartment), Pulpo, so we ended up there.

I had worried about the authenticity, since the Japanese are rather fond of, and rather good at, interpreting foreign cuisine through a very Japanese filter. So I was pleasantly surprised at how faithful a rendition the dishes were. Sure, that’s KPulpoewpie mayo on the tortilla there, but given my fondness for the stuff, I didn’t mind in the least.

I apparently forgot to get pics of an entire course in here, which were the chorizo and garlic in olive oil and shrimp in garlic and olive oil dishes. Chorizo weren’t quite right, but they were very tasty anyhow. Also fPulpoorgot to snap the braised spareribs.

There were 7 or 8 of us, and we took up half the restaurant just about, for almost 4.5 hours. A nice, leisurely meal. We talked about all sorts of things, from salsa dancing to anime to why Western guys are attracted to Japanese women (and I was asked to weigh in on what I liked about Japanese men). Talked about Turkey (one of the editors was flying there today for a conference), New York, ArgPulpoentina, Tokyo….

And I was caught up on lots of office gossip, including finding out the English editor Pulpoin China is moving here in July and my office dad is leaving in June. Discovered my coworkers can put away a lot of alcohol and not get drunk (or not seem drunk). I think there were 4 or 5 bottles of wine and several bottles of beer, and sangria. I had just a glass of sangria and one small glass of a good Tempranillo.

It was a good time and I’m glad I had a chance to talk to everyone who Pulpowent.

Today was running around getting some more needed things — hair dryer, mini-vac, sauce pan. And I ordered a printer, TV and iron. Soon there will be sleep, for I am off tomorrow to Sendai for the first time, for the afternoPulpoon Granrodeo show. And Monday will be a big day, as I will get my visa and residence card. If I am fortunate enough to get my certificate of residence too, then perhaps next weekend I can buy a phone. I can definitely get a bank account, which will make the office controller happy….

One thought on “Pulpo

Leave a Reply

