General Life

The sound of memories

I am a very, very aural person. I forget things I read almost as soon as my gaze has zipped past the words. But say something, even notesjust once, and I’m likely to remember it, potentially years later. There are poems I memorized in high school (a good 30+ years ago) for French and drama classes that I still remember. And song lyrics … occupy more of my brain than they have a right to. In multiple languages, no less.

So it should come as no surprise that music is important to me. I can’t sing to save my life, or play an instrument, but I am a voracious consumer of music. I wake up with a song in my head each day (usually Granrodeo, but that’s a post for another day), and I’m quick to recognize music around me (that I can now recognize variations on the group Exile is yet another post for a different day). Songs get stuck in my head and stay there for hours, days on end.

So, set a commercial to music, and I will remember your product for decades. Literally.

Take “I’d Like to Teach the World to Sing (In Perfect Harmony),” a Coke commercial from way back in 1971. Played this video of it last night and sang right along.

And thanks to McDonalds, Beethoven’s “Fur elise” will ALWAYS be the “McDonalds French Fry song” to me.

And this one, “Another Day,” is a gorgeous piece commissioned from composer Hakase Taro by ANA. It’ll always mean “Japan” to me, as it’s played during boarding and deplaning on ANA’s international flights. Domestically, it’s only used for deplaning, which confuses me each time I board an ANA flight, since I’m conditioned to hear it and think “yay, I’m off to Japan!” (or now, “yay, I’m off to Tokyo!”).

Leave a Reply

