CJCVVWqUYAA3HClI have fond memories of 4th of July softball tournaments as a kid, though Mother Nature wasn’t always all that cooperative in Germany. But as an adult, I’ve just never been much into more than the occasional barbecue with friends. In all the years I lived in Maryland, I only twice tried to see the fireworks in DC (Mother Nature intervened one of those times too). So when my mom asked if I had any plans, I replied that I did not.

But my friend Lexi had other ideas, and suggested a picnic, which sounded like a grand way to celebrate. Mother Nature had other ideas, but we ignored her, meeting up in one of the picnic pavilions in Ohorikoen Park where we enjoyed a typical 4th repast of potato salad, macaroni salad, watermelon and Kentucky Fried Chicken. Plus a few other assorted things like leftover guacamole, olives and some mini-cheesecakes I made last night.

We were eagerly watched by a family of ravens and a disturbingly smart cohort of what were probably swallows (one tried to distract us by being cute and fluffy while one behind us tried to sneak onto the table; at one point, we were surrounded on three sides by them). The park is lovely, even in the rain, so it turned out to be a very nice way to celebrate.

One Reply to “Happy 4th of July!”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.